1. Home
  2. News
  3. Jorge Prado takes his second crown in a row in MX2
26. August 2019

Jorge Prado takes his second crown in a row in MX2



Jeffrey Herlings marked his return not only with a pole position from Saturday’s qualifying, he took the FOX Holeshot and finishing 12th in the overall Grand Prix. 5th in the overall Grand Prix for Jeremy Van Horebeek and 17th in the overall Grand Prix for Alessandro Lupino.


Jorge Prado took his back-to-back title in the MX2 class, finishing 3rd in the overall Grand Prix. Tom Vialle with 2nd in moto1 and 2nd in moto2, in his rookie season, allowed him to savour his very first GP triumph.

Jorge Prado: “It has been a perfect season. I won every GP I raced up until now and many motos and many qualifying races. I was feeling very good this year with the bike set-up and physically. My start was OK in the second moto but then I made a small crash and bent the clutch lever. I had to deal with a race without a clutch and passing riders was tough in the beginning. I had to get used to it. I got better and better and at the end of the moto I made very good laps. I was so close to getting Adam on the last lap. I think it was one of the best races of the year and I felt very comfortable in that second moto. I liked the track a lot and it was prepped very well this weekend. Overall I think I made a clear step from last year to this year: I was riding better. I’m very happy. No mistakes. It’s important to be like that and to keep consistent in a long championship.”

Round 16 MXGP in Uddevalla - Sweden


5. Jeremy Van Horebeek (Honda)

12. Jeffrey Herlings (KTM)

17. Alessandro Lupino (Kawasaki)


1. Tom Vialle (KTM)

3. Jorge Prado (KTM)

11. Jago Geerts (Yamaha)

23. Kevin Horgmo (KTM)

28. Marcel Conijn (Kawasaki)


4. Rene Hofer (KTM)

7. Ruben Fernandez (Yamaha)

12. Rick Elzinga (Yamaha)

15. Lion Florian (KTM)

20. Caleb Grothues (Yamaha)


9. Mike Gwerder (KTM)

20. Haakon Osterhagen (KTM)