1. Home
  2. News
  3. Jeffrey Herlings and Tom Vialle celebrate victory at wet Dutch MXGP
9. März 2020

Jeffrey Herlings and Tom Vialle celebrate victory at wet Dutch MXGP


MXGP of Netherlands – Valkenswaard : This weekend took place the second Grand Prix of the 2020 Motocross World Championship at Valkenswaard in Netherlands.


Copious rainfall created a rough and treacherous Eurocircuit in Valkenswaard south of Eindhoven for the second round of 2020 MXGP. The sand was demanding and technical and a thorough test for all riders.

Jeffrey Herlings: “This was one of the most difficult Valkenswaard wins. Tim did a great job but it was important for us to think about the overall than the 1-1 and to not lose points. This was a good GP for us. Going to Argentina I hope we can find some good weather! It has been two in a row now with rain! We’ll try to make the best of the situation there and go again for a podium spot.”

Tony Cairoli: “Valkenswaard is a race where we struggle a bit but with some experience we could come away with 4th overall, which is good and in spite of the conditions and my knee. I wasn’t comfortable and it wasn’t the best for a track where you need to attack. In the end we have to be happy even if this is not the result that we normally want. We know in the first races we have to stay in the top five. Let’s hope in Argentina the race will be a bit more flowing with some more places to pass. Today was a very difficult track.”


Tom Vialle triumphed for his second career Grand Prix victory and made sure of his spoils in Holland with a commanding second moto win

Tom Vialle: “A really good weekend for me and I’m really happy with the result. I took two holeshots and led almost the whole moto but then I had a small problem with my goggles and I didn’t want to take too many risks. I was really motivated for the second moto and went full gas in the first laps to make a gap. I was quite far ahead by the end. I’m happy to have the red plate. We still have a long way to go, and now I’m looking forward to Argentina.”

Next race on May 10 in France.

Motocross World Championship 2020, Round 2 – Valkenswaard, Netherlands


1. Jeffrey Herlings (KTM)

4. Antonio Cairoli (KTM)

9. Jorge Prado (KTM)

18. Michele Cervellin (Yamaha)

34. Alessandro Lupino (Yamaha)


1. Tom Vialle (KTM)

8. Jeremy Sydow (GasGas)

9. Rene Hofer (KTM)

10. Simon Laengenfelder (GasGas)

32. Joakin Furbetta (KTM)

37. Ruben Fernandez (Yamaha)

credits: press.ktm.com